African Teams at FIFA Women’s World Cup 2019

The eight edition of the FIFA Women’s World Cup will hold in France from June 7 – July 7, 2019, and the African continent is duly represented by Nigeria, South Africa and Cameroon.

This quadrennial international football championship is contested by the women’s national teams of the member associations of the Fédération Internationale de Football Association (FIFA).

A total of 24 teams qualified for the final tournament, with Africa’s three (3) slots – as approved by the FIFA Council in October 2016 – going to Nigeria, South Africa and Cameroon who finished in the top three of the 2018 Total Women’s African Cup of Nations in Ghana, to qualify for the 2019 FIFA Women’s World Cup.

2019 FIFA Women's World Cup GroupsIn Group A, Nigeria, reigning African champions, will have to beware of the host country’s team. France beat Nigeria 8-0 in a friendly match. Other opponents of this group: Norway and South Korea.

In Group B, South Africa will face defending Olympic champion, Germany, Spain and China.

In Group E, Cameroon will play against Canada, the Netherlands and New Zealand.

Leave a Reply

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.